Modi cabinet reshuffel – Central Minister Najma Heptulla & Shri G.M. Siddeshwara resigned while Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi takes minority affairs and Babul Supriyo moves to Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

Venkaiah Naidu - Babul-Supriyo
Venkaiah Naidu - Babul-Supriyo

The President of India, as advised by the Prime Minister, has accepted the resignation of the following members of the Union Council of Ministers, with immediate effect

i) Dr. Najma A. Heptulla, and
ii) Shri G.M. Siddeshwara

Further, as advised by the Prime Minister of India, the President has directed that –

i) Shri Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Minister of State, shall be assigned the Independent charge of the Ministry of Minority Affairs;

ii) Shri Babul Supriyo, Minister of State shall be relieved of the charge of Minister of State in the Ministry of Urban Development, and Minister of State in the Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation; and

iii) Shri Babul Supriyo, shall be assigned the portfolio of Minister of State in the Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises.