National Sports Awards -2019 announced Bajrang Punia and Deepa Malik to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Deepa Malik
Deepa Malik

National Sports Awards -2019 announced Bajrang Punia and Deepa Malik to get Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

By PIB Delhi

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four year, Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years, Dronacharya Award for coaches is given for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events.Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel ProtsahanPuruskar are given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given MaulanaAbulKalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year (2019), which were considered by the Selection Committees consisting of former Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Sport Journalists/Experts/Commentators and Sports Administrators. Selection Committee for the Sports Awards 2019 was headed by Justice Mukundakam Sharma, Retired Judge, Supreme Court.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has decided to confer awards upon the following sportspersons, coaches, entities and university:


S.No.Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
1.Sh. Bajrang PuniaWrestling
2.Ms. Deepa MalikPara Athletics


Regular Category

S.No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
1.Sh. Vimal KumarBadminton
2.Sh. Sandeep GuptaTable tennis
3.Sh. Mohinder Singh DhillonAthletics

Life-Time Category

S.No.Name of the CoachDiscipline
1.Sh. Merzban PatelHockey
2.Sh. Rambir Singh KhokharKabaddi
3.Sh. Sanjay BhardwajCricket


S.No.Name of the SportspersonDiscipline
1.Sh. Tajinderpal Singh ToorAthletics
2.Mohammed Anas YahiyaAthletics
3.Sh. S. BhaskaranBody Building
4.Ms. Sonia LatherBoxing
5.Sh. Ravindra JadejaCricket
6.Sh. Chinglensana Singh KangujamHockey
7.Sh. Ajay ThakurKabaddi
8.Sh. Gaurav Singh GillMotor Sports
9.Sh. Pramod BhagatPara Sports (Badminton)
10.Ms. Anjum MoudgilShooting
11.Sh. Harmeet Rajul DesaiTable Tennis
12.Ms. Pooja DhandaWrestling
13.Sh. Fouaad MirzaEquestrian
14.Sh. Gurpreet Singh SandhuFootball
15.Ms. Poonam YadavCricket
16.Ms. Swapna BarmanAthletics
17.Sh. Sundar Singh GurjarPara Sports  (Athletics)
18.Sh. Bhamidipati Sai PraneethBadminton
19.Sh. Simran Singh ShergillPolo


 Sh. Manuel FredricksHockey
 Sh. Arup BasakTable Tennis
 Sh. Manoj KumarWrestling
 Sh. NittenKirrtaneTennis
 Sh. C. LalremsangaArchery


S. No.CategoryEntity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2019
1.Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent’(i) Gagan Narang Sports Promotion Foundation(ii) GoSports Foundation
2.Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility
3.‘Employment to sportspersons and other welfare measures’
4.Sports for Development Rayalaseema Development Trust

(F) MAULANA ABUL KALAM AZAD (MAKA) TROPHY, 2019:Panjab University, Chandigarh

The awardees will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on 29th August, 2019.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs. 7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh each. A trophy and citation is given to the entity in the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2019. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate.