West Bengal Got 89Cr Plus for Coastal Tourism – Tourism sanctions 25 projects worth Rs. 2048 Crore to 21 States and UTs sanctioned under Swadesh Darshan scheme

0 0
Azadi Ka Amrit Mahoutsav

InterServer Web Hosting and VPS
Read Time:4 Minute, 54 Second

M/o Tourism sanctions 25 projects worth Rs. 2048 Crore to 21 States and UTs sanctioned under Swadesh Darshan scheme

Ministry of Tourism has sanctioned 25 projects under the Swadesh Darshan scheme worth Rs. 2048 Crore so far to 21 States and Union Territories since its launch of in January 2015. These States and UTs include Jammu and Kashmir, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Kerala, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Bihar, West Bengal, Sikkim, Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur and Tripura.

(a)    For North Eastern States, the Ministry has sanctioned 9 projects worth Rs. 821 Crores covering all the 8 states.

(b)   For Tribal areas, the Ministry has sanctioned 3 projects for Rs. 282 Crores to the SG of Nagaland, Chhattisgarh and Telangana.

(c)    For Buddhist Circuit, the Ministry has sanctioned 2 projects worth Rs. 108.11 Crore to the SG of Bihar and Madhya Pradesh.

The Ministry of Tourism has launched the Swadesh Darshan Scheme in 2014-15 with an objective to develop theme based tourist circuits in the country on the principles of high tourist value, competitiveness and sustainability in an integrated manner by synergizing efforts to focus on needs and concerns of all stakeholders to enrich tourist experience and enhance employment opportunities. Under this scheme, 13 Thematic Circuits have been identified, for development namely: North-East India Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Desert Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit and Heritage Circuit.

The aim of the scheme are:

  • To position tourism as a major engine of economic growth and job creation;
  • To promote India as a global brand and a world class tourist destination;
  • To develop world class infrastructure in varied thematic circuits and pilgrimage sites;
  • To showcase full potential of wide range of unique products;
  • To provide complete tourism experience by enhancing tourist attractions;
  • Responsible Tourism Initiative- active involvement of local communities , pro-poor approach in a sustainable and inclusive manner.

The work on all sanctioned projects during 2014-15 & 2016-17 has started and Ministry is monitoring the work rigorously. List of Updated Sanctioned projects are as follows :

(Amt. in Rs.crore)

Sr. No Circuit State Name of Project Year Sanction Amt. Release Amt.
1. Coastal Andhra Pradesh Development of  Kakinada-Hope Island- Konaseema as World class Coastal & Eco Tourism Circuit in Andhra Pradesh 2014-15 69.83 13.96
2. North East India Arunachal Pradesh Development of Bhalukpong- Bomdila-Tawang in Arunachal Pradesh 2014-15 49.77 10.00
3. Buddhist Bihar Construction of Cultural Centre at  Bodhgaya, Bihar 2014-15 33.17 6.63
4. North East Manipur Development of Tourist Circuit in Manipur: Imphal-Moirang-Khongjom-Moreh 2015-16 89.66 17.93
5. North East Sikkim Development of Tourist  Circuit linking – Rangpo     (entry) – Rorathang –  Aritar –  Phadamchen – Nathang – Sherathang – Tsongmo – Gangtok – Phodong – Mangan – Lachung  – Yumthang – Lachen – Thangu –   Gurudongmer – Mangan – Gangtok – Tumin Lingee – Singtam (exit) in Sikkim 2015-16 98.05 19.61
6. Eco Uttarakhand Integrated Development of Eco-Tourism, Adventure Sports, Associated Tourism related Infrastructure for Development of Tehri Lake & Surroundings as New Destination-District Tehri, Uttarakhand 2015-16 80.37 16.07
7. Coastal Andhra Pradesh Development of Coastal Tourism Circuit in Sri Potti Sriramalu Nellore in Andhra Pradesh 2015-16 60.38 12.08
8. North East India Arunachal Pradesh Integrated Development of Adventure Tourism in Arunachal Pradesh 2015-16 97.14 19.43
9. Eco Kerala Development of  Pathanamthitta – Gavi – Vagamon – Thekkady  as Eco Tourism Circuit in Idduki and Pathanamthitta Districts in Kerala 2015-16 99.22 19.84
10 Desert Rajasthan Development of Sambhar Lake Town and Other Destinations under Desert Circuit in Swadesh Darshan Scheme 2015-16 63.96 12.79
11 Tribal Nagaland Development of Tribal Circuit Peren –Kohima-Wokha, Nagaland 2015-16 97.36 19.47
12 Eco Telangana Integrated Development of Eco Tourism Circuit in Mahaboobnagar district, Telangana 2015-16 91.62 18.32
13 Wild Life Madhya Pradesh Development of Wildlife Circuit at Panna – Mukundpur-Sanjay-Dubri-Bandhavgarh-Kanha-Mukki-Pench in Madhya Pradesh 2015-16 92.22 18.44
14 Wildlife Assam Wildlife Circuit of Assam 2015-16 95.67 19.13
15 North East India Tripura Development of North East Circuit : Agartala – Sipahijala – Melaghar – Udaipur – Amarpur – Tirthamukh – Mandirghat – Dumboor- NarikelKunja – Gandachara – Ambassa 2015-16 99.59 19.92
16 Eco Mizoram Integrated Development of New Eco Tourism under Swadesh Darshan – North East Circuit at Thenzawl& South Zote, District Serchhip and Reiek, Mizoram 2015-16 94.91 18.98
17 Coastal West Bengal Development of Beach Circuit – Udaipur – Digha – Shankarpur – Tajpur – Mandarmani – Fraserganj – Bakkhlai -Henry Island 2015-16 85.39 17.08
18 Coastal Puducherry Development of Union Territory of Puducherry as Tourist Circuit under “Swadesh Darshan” Scheme 2015-16 85.28 17.06
19 Tribal Chhattisgarh Development of Tribal Tourism Circuit Jashpur-Kunkuri-Mainpat-Ambikapur-Maheshpur-ratanpur-Kurdar-Sarodadadar-Gangrel-Kondagaon-Nathyanawagaon-Jagdalpur-Chitrakoot-Tirthgarh in Chhattisgarh 2015-16 99.94 19.99
20 Coastal Maharashtra Sindhudurg Coastal Circuit 2015-16 82.76 12.79
21 Coastal Goa Development of Coastal Circuit (Sinquerim0Baga-Anjuna-Vagator-Morjim-Keri-Aguada Fort and Aguada Jail) in Goa under Swadesh Darshan Scheme 2016-17 99.99 20.00
22 Himalayan Jammu & Kashmir Integrated Development of Tourism Infrastructure Projects in the State of Jammu and Kashmir under Himalayan Circuit of Swadesh Darshan Scheme 2016-17  82.97 16.59
23 Tribal Telangana Integrated Development of Mulugu-Laknavaram-Tadavi-Damaravi-Mallur-Bogatha waterfalls as Tribal Circuit in Telangana under Swadesh Darshan Scheme 2016-17 84.40 16.88
24 North East India Meghalaya Development of Umiam Lake-Ulum Sohpetbneng-Mawdiangdiang under North East Circuit of Swadesh Darshan Scheme 2016-17 99.13 19.83
25 Buddhist Madhya Pradesh Buddhist sites of  Madhya Pradesh (Mandsaur- Dhar- Sanchi- Satna- Rewa)


74.94 14.99
TOTAL   2047.77 402.82


About Post Author

Editor Desk

Antara Tripathy M.Sc., B.Ed. by qualification and bring 15 years of media reporting experience.. Coverred many illustarted events like, G20, ICC,MCCI,British High Commission, Bangladesh etc. She took over from the founder Editor of IBG NEWS Suman Munshi (15/Mar/2012- 09/Aug/2018 and October 2020 to 13 June 2023).
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %