Transport Update – State Govt to start operating 300 new buses

West Bengal - Bus and WBTC
West Bengal - Bus and WBTC

State Govt to start operating 300 new buses

State Govt to start operating 300 new buses

The Bengal Government has decided to put into service 300 new buses, including electric buses, from December 1.

The service will start in phases. Both AC and non-AC buses are among the 300. The buses will be operated by all the three government-run transport companies – West Bengal Transport Corporation, North Bengal State Transport Corporation and South Bengal State Transport Corporation.

In the first phase, electric buses in Rajarhat and New Town and 156 other buses – on 156 routes, in both rural and urban areas – will start operating.

Among the 156 routes are eight new routes formulated by the Transport Department between Darjeeling and Mirik. This would give a major push to the transport infrastructure in the Hills region. These routes have been created considering the demand and needs of people residing there, according to the State Transport Minister.

Another initiative is to run mini buses on the Bardhaman- Durgapur-Asansol route. Other routes have been conceived taking into consideration connecting tourist spots of the state, among them being Motijheel, Hazarduari and Darjeeling.

Advertisements IBGNewsCovidService