The second innings for Mayor Firhad Hakim begins with CM’s blessings

Firhad Hakim New Mayor of Kolkata Municipal Corporation
Firhad Hakim New Mayor of Kolkata Municipal Corporation
0 0
Azadi Ka Amrit Mahoutsav

InterServer Web Hosting and VPS
Read Time:3 Minute, 38 Second

Incidentally, Firhad is the second mayor of Kolkata after Mamata Banerjee became CM. Earlier, in November 2016, when Shovon Chattopadhyay resigned from the post of mayor, Mamata appointed Firhad, who was in charge of the then city and urban development department, as the mayor of Kolkata. Kolkata Port MLA Firhad won the 2021 Assembly elections for the fourth time and became the Minister of State for Transport and Housing. With the party’s one-man, one-post policy in mind, it seemed for a while that Firhad would not be a candidate in the by-elections. However, after the announcement of the Trinamool candidate list on November 26, it was seen that he has been nominated as a candidate again inward no. He has won the pre-poll by a wide margin. After completing all those episodes, he became the mayor again.

Firhad Hakim was sworn in as the Mayor of Kolkata Municipality. The chairperson is Mala Roy. The mayor and his councilors were sworn in at a ceremony at the municipality on Tuesday. The Trinamool had already confirmed the formation of the Purbord after winning 134 seats in the by-elections. After that, the names of the mayor, chairperson, mayoral council, and borough chairmen were fixed by the party leader Mamata Banerjee. Tuesday’s event was a treat. Ram Padyare Ram, Councilor of Ward No. 69, presided over the function as a senior councilor. He is the one who administered the oath to the mayor and chairperson.

Atin Ghosh was sworn in as Deputy Mayor. Debashis Kumar, Debabrata Majumder, Tarak Singh, Abhijit Mukherjee, Swapan Samaddar, Mitali Bandyopadhyay, Jiban Saha, Ram Pare Ram, Sandipan Saha, Vaishwanar Chattopadhyay, Sandeep Bokshi and Amiruddin Bobby were sworn in as the Mayor. The mayor read out their oath. After taking the oath, Firhad said, “It is not necessary to be the mayor or the mayor, council or councilor,” he said. That is why Mamata Banerjee has sent us here as her representative. Remember, being responsible means being with people, serving them. “

Historically, Calcutta Municipal Corporation is a prestigious post for any political personality in the country, as this has been honored by legends of India.

Here is the List of Mayor elected at Calcutta Municipal Corporation. Some of them are legendary figures of Indian politics like Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das, Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose, Deshapriya Jatindra Mohan Sengupta, Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy,Sri Abul Kasem Fazlul Haque, Dr. Triguna Sen etc. a list of educated, and all admired leaders.

In that illustrated list Mamata Banerjee entrusted second-time Janab Firhad Hakim or Bobby Hakim as the true torchbearer of that legacy of the legend. Congratulation to new mayor and his Mayor in council members.

Date of ElectionName
16-04-1924Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das
01-04-1925Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das
17-07-1925Deshapriya Jatindra Mohan Sengupta
01-04-1926Deshapriya Jatindra Mohan Sengupta
27-04-1927Deshapriya Jatindra Mohan Sengupta
02-04-1928Sri Bijoy Kumar Basu
10-04-1929Deshapriya Jatindra Mohan Sengupta
29-04-1930Deshapriya Jatindra Mohan Sengupta
22-08-1930Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose
15-04-1931Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy
11-04-1932Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy
09-04-1933Sri Santosh Kumar Basu
04-07-1934Sri Nalini Ranjan Sarkar
30-04-1935Sri Abul Kasem Fazlul Haque
29-04-1936Sir Harisankar Paul
28-04-1937Sri Sanat K.Roy Chowdhury
29-04-1938Sri A.K.M. Zakariah
26-04-1939Sri Nisith Chandra Sen
24-04-1940Sri Abdur Rahman Siddiqi
28-04-1941Sri Phanindra Nath Brahma
29-04-1942Sri Hem Chandra Naskar
30-04-1943Sri Syed Badrudduja
26-04-1944Sri Anandi Lal Poddar
27-04-1945Sri Debendra Nath Mukherjee
29-04-1946Sri Syed Mohammed Usman
29-04-1947Sri Sudhir Chandra Ray Chaudhuri
Date of ElectionName
01-05-1952Sri Nirmal Chandra Chunder
06-03-1953Sri Naresh Nath Mookherjee
02-04-1953Sri Naresh Nath Mookherjee
28-04-1954Sri Naresh Nath Mookherjee
25-04-1955Sri Satish Chandra Ghosh
23-04-1956Sri Satish Chandra Ghosh
29-04-1957Dr. Triguna Sen
18-04-1958Dr. Triguna Sen
08-04-1959Sri Bejoy Kumar Banerjee
08-06-1960Sri Keshab Chandra Basu
28-04-1961Sri Rajendranath Majumdar
18-04-1962Sri Rajendranath Majumdar
08-04-1963Sri Chittaranjan Chatterjee
17-04-1964Sri Chittaranjan Chatterjee
26-04-1965Dr. Priti Kumar Roy Chowdhury
25-04-1966Dr. Priti Kumar Roy Chowdhury
24-04-1967Sri Gobinda Chandra Dey
19-04-1968Sri Gobinda Chandra Dey
13-06-1969Sri Prasanta Kumar Sur
24-04-1970Sri Prasanta Kumar Sur
23-04-1971Sri Shyam Sundar Gupta
Date of ElectionName
30-07-1985Sri Kamal Kumar Basu
30-07-1990Sri Prasanta Chatterjee
15-07-1995Sri Prasanta Chatterjee
12-07-2000Sri Subrata Mookherjee
05-07-2005Sri Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharyya
16-06-2010Sri Sovan Chatterjee
18-05-2015Sri Sovan Chatterjee
03-12-2018Sri Firhad Hakim
28-12-2021Sri Firhad Hakim

About Post Author

Editor Desk

Antara Tripathy M.Sc., B.Ed. by qualification and bring 15 years of media reporting experience.. Coverred many illustarted events like, G20, ICC,MCCI,British High Commission, Bangladesh etc. She took over from the founder Editor of IBG NEWS Suman Munshi (15/Mar/2012- 09/Aug/2018 and October 2020 to 13 June 2023).
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %
0 %



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here