The Health for All Film Festival

WHO Award Ceremony
WHO Award Ceremony

The Health for All Film Festival

Films are a powerful way to raise awareness, improve understanding and encourage action so that this festival aims to contribute to health promotion and education about health.

The WHO Health for All Film Festival invites independent film-makers, production companies, public institutions, NGOs, communities, students, and film schools from around the world to submit their original short films on health. The festival aims to recruit a new generation of film and video innovators to champion and promote global health issues.

Watch below the awards ceremony on 14 May from 11 am to 6 pm CEST.

awards ceremony promo - EN

WHO receives nearly 1 200 entries for the second edition of Health for All Film Festival

The World Health Organization’s second call for entries to its Health for All Film Festival has received nearly 1 200 submissions from 110 countries. More than 40% of the short films feature themes related to COVID-19, revealing the pandemic’s pervasive and universal consequences.

Entries came from such countries as Argentina, Australia, Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Philippines, Portugal, United Kingdom, the United States of America, Russia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey and Uganda. 

The composition of the Festival jury will be announced in the coming weeks and will include a number of critically-acclaimed artists from the film and music industries, along with WHO senior experts. The jury will recommend winners to WHO’s Director-General, who will make the final decision. Initial short lists for each category, comprising 15 films per category, will be announced in March.Film competition categories for 2021 

The main competition categories for the second Health for All film festival hosted by WHO are aligned with the Organization’s global goals for public health.

Submissions were received from 24 October 2020 to 30 January 2021.

For submitting a short film, the copyright owner of the film had to choose one category of competition among the three described below, which relate to WHO’s global health targets set out in the Thirteenth General Programme of Work (GPW13):  

  • Universal health coverage (UHC) – films about mental health, noncommunicable diseases (NCDs) and other UHC stories linked to communicable diseases not part of emergencies;
  • Health emergencies – films about health emergencies, for instance COVID-19, Ebola, disaster relief and health in war-zones;
  • Better health and well-being – films about environmental and social determinants of health, such as nutrition, sanitation, pollution, gender, and/or about health promotion or health education.

For each of these three grand prix categories, candidates submitted short documentaries or fiction films of 3 to 8 minutes in length; short videos specifically crafted for social media; or animation films of 1 to 5 minutes in length for all the described categories.

In addition, juries can nominate special prizes (listed below) for short-listed videos not receiving a GRAND PRIX. From this pool, the Director-General will choose up to three special prizes.

The winners of GRAND PRIX are not eligible for special prizes. In addition, there will be only one special prize per candidate. 

The special prizes are:

Student-produced film: videos of 3 to 8 minutes long produced by students who are legal adults in their country and enrolled in formal education, including audio-visual and film-making schools.

Health educational film aimed at youth: videos of 3 to 8 minutes long produced with a specific educational goal.

Health Equity Film: videos of 3 to 8 minutes long paying tribute to the theme of the World Health Day campaign in 2021.

WHO received nearly 1300 entries for the inaugural film festival in 2020

These entries came from more than 110 countries and focused on a wide range of topics, such as the challenges of providing health-care in remote areas and countries in conflict, the realities of living and battling cancer, and the courage and resilience of nurses and midwives in the face of the most challenging of circumstances.

Filmmakers were invited to submit a short film for one of three categories: video reports, animation, or nurses, and midwives (2020 is the International Year of the Nurse and the Midwife).